Team Canada ready to take on the world at the ISU World Team Trophy

OTTAWA, ON: Skate Canada will send an eight-member team to the 2019 ISU World Team Trophy, taking place in Fukuoka, Japan from April 11-14, 2019. The Canadian team will consist of two men, two women, one pair and one ice dance entry.

Team Canada will be led by team captains and three-time world medalists Kaitlyn Weaver and Andrew Poje, Canadian pair champions Kirsten Moore-Towers and Michael Marinaro, Olympic gold team medallist Gabrielle Daleman, Canadian champion Alaine Chartrand, two-time Canadian champion Nam Nguyen, and Olympian Keegan Messing.

The countries ranked one to six on the ISU team standing qualify for the event. Team Canada is ranked sixth heading into this event. The other five countries, in order of qualification, are: Russia, USA, Japan, France and Italy. Skaters compete in their disciplines with their short programs/rhythm dance and free skates/dance. After the results, they receive placement points, which are then added together and the team with the highest points total will win the title. Teams will compete for a total of $1 million USD in prize money.

Canada has medalled three times at this event, winning silver at the inaugural event in 2009, bronze in 2012 and silver in 2013.

Mike Slipchuk, Skate Canada High Performance Director, will be the Canadian team leader at the event. Physiotherapist Agnes Makowski of Toronto, Ont., will be the Canadian medical staff at the event. Susan Blatz of Burlington, Ont., and Nicole Leblanc-Richard of Dieppe, N.B., will be the Canadian officials at the event.

For results and full entries, please visit the event page. For photos of Canadian entries, please contact [email protected]. For streaming and broadcast schedule, please visit CBC Sports.


Discipline Name Age Hometown Club Coach
Men Nam Nguyen 20 Ajax, Ont. Richmond Hill Training Centre Robert Burk
Men Keegan Messing 27 Sherwood Park, Alta./Brantford, Ont. Sherwood Park FSC Ralph Burghart
Women Gabrielle Daleman 21 Newmarket, Ont. Toronto Cricket, Curling and Skating Club Lee Barkell, Brian Orser
Women Alaine Chartrand 23 Prescott, Ont. York Region Skating Academy Tracey Wainman, Grzegorz Filipowski
Pairs Kirsten Moore-Towers/Michael Marinaro 26/27 St. Catharines, Ont./Sarnia, Ont. St. Catharines SC/Point Edward SC Bruno Marcotte, Richard Gauthier, Sylvie Fullum
Ice Dance Kaitlyn Weaver/Andrew Poje 29/32 Toronto, Ont./Waterloo, Ont. Granite SC/Kitchener-Waterloo SC Nikolai Morozov, Igor Shpilband, Pasquale Carmelengo
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *