Skate Canada members honoured at 2018 Achievement Awards Gala in Calgary

CALGARY, AB: This past weekend, Skate Canada celebrated 21 award winners during its annual Achievement Awards Gala and Banquet, part of the 2018 Ice Summit held in Calgary, Alta.

The winners received their awards on Saturday night in front of a crowd of over 350 of Canada’s top skating delegates. The evening was co-hosted by Olympic bronze medallist and three-time world medallist Tracy Wilson, and Olympic bronze medallist and world silver medallist Joannie Rochette.

The Skate Canada Achievement Awards program honours dedicated members of the skating community who have donated their time to help contribute to improving the quality of skating in Canada.

The 2017-2018 recipients were:

Skate Canada Club and Recreational Coach Award of Excellence
Lianne Sherriff, East Gwillimbury SC, Ontario Section

Skate Canada Competitive Coach/Choreographer Award of Excellence
Marie-France Dubreuil, Montréal International Skating School, Quebec Section
Patrice Lauzon, Montréal International Skating School, Quebec Section
Ravi Walia, Ice Palace FSC, Alberta/NWT/Nunavut Section

Skate Canada Officials Award of Excellence
Judy Burwash, Sandy Shores SC, British Columbia/Yukon Section

Skate Canada Event Volunteer Award of Excellence
Dan Potts, Mt. Boucherie SC, British Columbia/Yukon Section

Elizabeth Swan Memorial Award
Megan Maxwell, St. Andrews SC, Manitoba Section

Billie Mitchell Award
Leanna Caron, Timmins Porcupine FSC, Ontario Section

Skate Canada also presents a volunteer award to one member of each of the Skate Canada sections. The following exceptional volunteers were awarded the 2017-2018 Skate Canada Section Volunteer Award of Excellence:

British Columbia/Yukon Section
Joan Omasta, Kamloops SC

Alberta/NWT/Nunavut Section
Kathy Kopelchuk, Calalta Figure Skating Club

Saskatchewan Section
Joni Adamcewicz, Skate Regina

Manitoba Section
Mary Ellen McDonald, Skate Winnipeg

Ontario Section
Ross Phelps, Leaside SC

Quebec Section
Patrick Roch, CPA Saint-Basile-le-Grand

New Brunswick Section
Wendy Stokes, Riverview FSC

Prince Edward Island Section
Jocelyne Arsenault, Summerside FSC

Nova Scotia Section
Donna Baker, Bedford FSC

Newfoundland and Labrador Section
Perry Dalton, Mount Pearl-Paradise SC

Three additional host section awards were recognized in the CanSkate, STARSkate and CompetitiveSkate athlete areas, as representatives of all section winners across the country in those categories:

Skate Canada Section CanSkate Athlete Award
Rae Marie First Charger, Lethbridge SC, Alberta/NWT/Nunavut Section

Skate Canada Section STARSkate Athlete Award
Alanna Hickey, Noralta FSC, Alberta/NWT/Nunavut Section

Skate Canada Section CompetitiveSkate Athlete Award
Matthew Newnham, Ice Palace FSC, Alberta/NWT/Nunavut Section

Skate Canada congratulates all award winners, nominees, and countless invaluable volunteers.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *