Tag Archive for: 2022 Nebelhorn Trophy

Canadian Skaters Win Four Medals at 2022 Nebelhorn Trophy

OBERTSDORF, Germany (September 24, 2022) – Canada’s Keegan Messing launched his 2022-23 season with a gold medal in men’s competition at the Nebelhorn Trophy, a stop on the ISU Challenger Series circuit, which concluded on Saturday. Deanna Stellato-Dudek and Maxime Deschamps of Vaudreuil-Dorion, Que., added another victory as Canadians marched four times to the podium. Canada also won the Fritz Geiger Memorial Trophy as the top country at the competition ahead of Ukraine and Germany.

Messing was third after the short program but roared to top spot on Friday with the best free skate to finish with 245.74 points. Sihyeong Lee of South Korea took the silver with 235.71 and Roman Sadovsky of Vaughan, Ont., won the bronze with 222.74.

‘’Tensions were high this week,’’ said Messing, a two-time Olympian. ‘’It was a constant battle to overcome the nerves. In the short program, the nerves won. In the free skate I was able to conquer them and put out a solid performance.’’

Sadovksy, 23, was first after the short program.

‘’I struggled with the short last season, so it was nice to start off with a really strong short,’’ he said. ‘’The long wasn’t quite what I wanted but I think I just need a little more mileage and, hopefully as the season progresses, it will improve.’’

In pairs, Stellato-Dudek and Deschamps, moved from second after the short program to win the gold with the top free skate totalling 192.74. Alisa Efimova and Ruben Blommaert of Germany were second at 186.17 and their compatriots Annika Hocke and Robert Kunkel third at 184.47.

‘’It wasn’t perfect, but we stayed together,’’ said Stellato-Dudek. ‘’We came here really prepared and we think we put out two really solid performances to start the season.’’

The fourth medal for Canada was won on Saturday by Carolane Soucisse of Chateauguay, Que., and Shane Firus of North Vancouver, B.C., with the bronze in ice dancing. They totalled 73.23 points with Lilah Fear and Lewis Gibson of Great Britain earning the gold with 85.80 and Allison Reed and Saulius Ambrulevicius of Lithuania the silver at 78.98.

‘’It’s nice to be back on the podium and it’s where I think we should be,’’ said Soucisse. ‘’We skated with confidence and attacked.’’

Molly Lanaghan and Dmitre Razgulajevs of Scarborough, Ont., were fourth. World championship silver medallist Loena Hendrickx of Germany won the women’s event with Canadian champion Madeline Schizas of Oakville, Ont., placing fifth.

The Challenger Series provides opportunities for senior skaters to compete at an international level and earn world ranking points. Full results can be found here.

Nine Canadians to Compete at the 2022 Nebelhorn Trophy

OTTAWA, ON (September 16, 2022) – After kicking off the season at the U.S. Figure Skating Classic earlier this month, nine members of the Canadian National Team will make their way to Oberstdorf, Germany to compete at the 2022 Nebelhorn Trophy from September 21-24, 2022. Team Canada will count one entry in women and pair, as well as two entries in both men and ice dance.

19-year-old Madeline Schizas will be the sole Canadian to compete in the women’s event. Schizas burst onto the international scene last season where she captured the hearts of Canadians with her outstanding performances in both the team and single women events at the 2022 Winter Olympics.

The men’s competition will be highlighted by veteran and current Canadian champion Keegan Messing, who also captured gold at the 53rd Golden Spin of Zagreb. He will be joined by Olympic teammate Roman Sadovsky, who secured a silver medal at the 2022 Canadian Tire National Skating Championships and placed fourth at the 2021 Rostelecom Cup.

Deanna Stellato-Dudek & Maxime Deschamps will be competing for Team Canada in the pair event. They had a fantastic showing last season finishing third at the 2022 Canadian Tire National Skating Championships and fourth at the 2022 ISU Four Continents Championships®.

The ice dance team will be led by Carolane Soucisse & Shane Firus. The duo had a consistent 2021-2022 season, placing fourth at both the 2022 Canadian Tire National Skating Championships and 2022 ISU Four Continents Championships®. In their first season as members of the National Team, Molly Lanaghan & Dmitre Razgulajevs will be looking to gain valuable international experience after the duo was eighth at the 2022 Canadian Tire National Skating Championships.

Competition starts on Wednesday, September 22, with the men, women and pair short program. The following day, men and pair disciplines complete their free programs, while ice dancers will tackle the rhythm dance. The event will conclude with the free dance and women free program on Saturday. For more information regarding the event, click here.

Team Canada 
Name | Age | Hometown | Coach | Training Location

Madeline Schizas | 19 | Oakville, Ont. | Nancy Lemaire & Derek Schmidt | Milton, Ont.

Keegan Messing | 30 | Girdwood, USA | Ralph Burghart | Anchorage, USA
Roman Sadovsky | 23 | Vaughan, Ont. | Tracey Wainman & Grzegorz Filipowski | Richmond Hill, Ont.

Deanna Stellato-Dudek | 39 | Chicago, USA & Maxime Deschamps | 30 | Vaudreuil-Dorion, Que. | Josée Picard | Vaudreuil-Dorion, Que.

Ice Dance
Carolane Soucisse | 27 | Châteauguay, Que. & Shane Firus | 28 | North Vancouver, BC | Carol Lane & Juris Razgulajevs | Toronto, Ont.
Molly Lanaghan | 23 | Doncaster, GB & Dmitre Razgulajevs | 25 | Ajax, Ont. | Carol Lane & Juris Razgulajevs | Scarborough, Ont.

Team Leader – Mike Slipchuk
Medical Team – Mireille Landry
Officials – Debbie Islam & Jacqueline Wickett-Warren

For more information, please visit www.isu.org.