Tag Archive for: 2022 Ice Summit

Skate Canada members honoured at 2022 Achievement Awards Banquet in Québec City

OTTAWA, ON: This past weekend, Skate Canada honoured 16 award winners during its annual Awards Banquet at the 2022 Ice Summit held in Québec City, Que. The awards were given out on Saturday, May 28 at the ExpoCité – Centre de Foires. 

The winners received their awards on Saturday night in front of a crowd of Canada’s top skating delegates. The evening was co-hosted by event announcers Monique Bujold and Martin Gaudreault. The awards were given out by Olympians Madeline Schizas, Keegan Messing, Laurence Fournier Beaudry, Nikolaj Soerensen and Les Suprêmes Captains Laurie Désilets and Marie-Eve Comtois.   

The Skate Canada Awards program honours dedicated members of the skating community who have donated their time to help contribute to improving the quality of skating in Canada. 

The 2021-2022 recipients were: 

National Club Coach Award
Tracey Zwiers 

National Competitive Coach/Choreographer Award 
Marilyn Langlois 

National Official Award
René Perron 

National Event Volunteer Award
Michael Pogue 

National Elizabeth Swan Memorial Award
Andrew Bosco   

Billie Mitchell Award
Janice Hunter 

Skate Canada also presents a volunteer award to one member of each of the Skate Canada sections. The following exceptional volunteers were awarded the 2021-2022 National Volunteer Award:  

British Columbia/Yukon Section
Joanne Nickel 

Alberta/Northwest Territories/Nunavut Section
Robin Forsyth 

Saskatchewan Section
Terry Hadley-Cole 

Manitoba Section
Donna Yee 

Ontario Section
Tracy Pereira   

Québec Section
Hélène D’Amour 

New Brunswick Section
Annie Aube 

Nova Scotia Section
Melissa Robinson 

Newfoundland/Labrador Section
Lindsay Hillier 

Prince Edward Island Section
Cassandra Mosher-Gallant 

Skate Canada congratulates all award winners, nominees and countless invaluable volunteers! 


Skating Delegates Travel to Quebec City for 2022 Ice Summit

OTTAWA, ON: The Canadian skating community will be in Québec City, Que., this week for the 2022 Ice Summit. Skating leaders from across the country will meet up in Québec City for the three-day conference that will take place from May 25-28, 2022. The conference will consist of a wide range of opportunities for members at all levels within Skate Canada.

“We are elated to be celebrating this past year’s accomplishments in beautiful Québec City at the 2022 Ice Summit,” said Debra Armstrong, Chief Executive Officer, Skate Canada. “It is truly an exciting time when all levels of Skate Canada come together to support development of skating from the grassroots level to the Olympic stage. We are even more excited to be able to host this event in person as we build towards 2026.”

The theme of this year’s event is: Building Towards 2026. The 2022 Ice Summit package offers a broad spectrum of informative and interactive workshops specifically targeting coaches, choreographers, officials, clubs and skating schools, and Skate Canada sections. With over 20 workshops hosted by world-class experts and sports professionals, attendees will be able to select the workshops most relevant to their skating career.

The Ice Summit will welcome a fantastic group of presenters, keynote speakers and moderators. The conference offers a selection of off-ice and on-ice workshops, of which the on-ice portions will be taking place at the Centre de glaces Intact Assurance. This year’s keynote speakers are Olympian Rachel Flatt and former coach of the Canadian women’s hockey team Danièle Sauvageau. Our on-ice workshops feature top skaters, coaches and choreographers, including Keegan Messing, Ralph Burghart, Carol Lane, Julie Marcotte and others.

The Ice Summit will also host the Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Saturday. Members will again be able to participate remotely as the AGM and voting will be available via live stream.

The weekend will close out on Saturday evening with the annual Skate Canada Awards Banquet, where Skate Canada will celebrate success and honour the many accomplishments of key contributors in the skating community. The evening will be hosted by event announcers Monique Bujold and Martin Gaudreault.