Tag Archive for: 2020 Bavarian Open

Canadian ice dancers shine at Bavarian Open

OBERTSDORF, Germany – Canada won two medals in both the junior and novice ice dancing events this past weekend at the Bavarian Open figure skating competition.

In the novice ice dance, Emma Goodstadt of Oakville, Ont., and Michael Barsoum of Toronto won the gold medal with 118.35 points. Hailey Yu and Brendan Giang of Burnaby, B.C., were third at 115.82 while Erica Estepa  and Nolen Hickey of Brampton, Ont., were seventh.

In the junior ice dance, Emmy Bronsard  of Levis, Que., and Aissa Bouaraguia of Montreal took the silver with 155.85 just ahead of Natalie D’Alessandro and Bruce Waddell of Toronto in third at 155.05. Avonley Nguyen and Vadym Kolesnik of the U.S. took the gold at 165.46.

Miku Makita and Tyler Gunara of Burnaby were fifth and Nadiia Bashynska and Peter Beaumont of Ajax, Ont., were ninth.

Haley Sales and Nikolas Wamsteeker of Kelowna, B.C., added a bronze in the senior ice dance with 163.43. Molly Lanaghan  and Dmitre Razgulajevs of Ajax were fifth.

The week-long competition featured a 32-member Canadian squad which totalled 16 medals (six gold, five silver and five bronze) in three age categories.

Full results: Bavarian Open 2020

Medal bonanza for Canadian skaters at Bavarian Open

OBERTSDORF, Germany – Stephen Gogolev and Joseph Phan were 1-2 in the men’s junior competition to highlight a strong Canadian performance at the Bavarian Open figure skating competition.

Gogolev, from Toronto, totalled 227.68 points placing first in both the short and long programs. Phan, from Laval Que., soared from fifth place after the short, to take the silver with 206.68.

Canadians also grabbed the top two positions in junior pairs. Kelly Ann Laurin of St-Jérôme, Que., and Loucas Ethier of St-Eustache, Que., took the gold with 139.71 edging Gabrielle Levesque of Bridgewater, N.S. and Pier-Alexandre Hudon of St-Roch-des-Aulnaies, Que., second at 139.57.

There were two sections for the junior women’s competition and Canadians won both. Kaiya Ruiter of Ottawa took the junior 1 with 165.22 while Madeline Schizas of Oakville, Ont., topped the junior 2 with 164.29.

Canada swept the medals in girls novice 2 with Amy Shao Ning Yang of Vancouver first at 114.95, Sara-Maude Dupuis of Anjou, Que., second at 113.88 and Audréanne Foster of Baie-Comeau, Que., third at 98.16.

Michelle Lee of Hamilton took silver in the girls novice 1 with 117.29.

In novice boys, Brendan Wong of Burnaby, B.C., was third and John Kim of Mississauga, Ont., fifth.

The week-long competition, which features a 32-member Canadian squad, ends Sunday.

Full results: Bavarian Open 2020

Canadian skaters headed to 2020 Bavarian Open

OTTAWA, ON: Team Canada is sending four senior skaters, 16 junior skaters and 12 advanced novice skaters for a total 32 skaters to Oberstdorf, Germany for the 2020 Bavarian Open. The event will take place from February 3-9.


Advanced Novice Men Brendan Wong 13 Burnaby, B.C. Champs International Skating Centre of BC Joanne McLeod
Advanced Novice Men John Kim 13 Mississauga, Ont. Hamilton Skating Club Bryce Davison / Jen Jackson
Advanced Novice Ladies Michelle Lee 12 Hamilton, Ont. Hamilton Skating Club Bryce Davison / Jen Jackson
Advanced Novice Ladies Amy Shao Ning Yang 15 Vancouver, B.C. Sunset Figure Skating Club Yibing (Jennifer) Jiang
Advanced Novice Ladies Audréanne Foster 15 Baie-Comeau, Que. CPA Baie Comeau Karen Sauvageau
Advanced Novice Ladies Sara-Maude Dupuis 14 Anjou, Que. CPA Anjou Kinsmen Inc. Stephane Yvars
Advanced Novice Ice Dance Emma Goodstadt / Michael Barsoum 15 / 15 Oakville, Ont. / Toronto, Ont. Scarboro FSC / Scarboro FSC Carol Lane / Jon Lane
Advanced Novice Ice Dance Erica Estepa / Nolen Hickey 14 / 16 Brampton, Ont. / Brampton, Ont. Skate Canada Brampton-Chinguacousy / Skate Canada Brampton-Chinguacousy Matt Doleman
Advanced Novice Ice Dance Hailey Yu / Brendan Giang 14 / 16 Burnaby, B.C. / Burnaby, B.C, Inlet SC / Champs International Skating Centre of B.C. Megan Wing / Aaron Lowe
Junior Men Stephen Gogolev 15 Toronto, Ont. Granite Club Rafael Arutyunan
Junior Men Joseph Phan 18 Toronto, Ont. CPA Laval Brian Orser
Junior Pair Kelly Ann Laurin / Loucas Ethier 14 / 19 Saint-Jérôme, Que. / Saint-Eustache, Que. Ecole Excellence Rosemère Yvan Desjardins
Junior Pair Gabrielle Levesque / Pier-Alexandre Hudon 17 / 21 Bridgewater, N.S. / Saint-Roch-Des-Aulnaies CPA Saint-Léonard Richard Gauthier / Ian Connolly
Junior Ice Dance Natalie D’Alessandro / Bruce Waddell 15 / 18 Toronto, Ont. / Toronto, Ont. Toronto CS & CC / Toronto CS & CC Andrew Hallam
Junior Ice Dance Nadiia Bashynska / Peter Beaumont 16 / 18 Ajax, Ont. / Ajax, Ont. Scarboro FSC / Scarboro FSC Carol Lane / Juris Razgulajevs / Jon Lane
Junior Ice Dance Miku Makita / Tyler Gunara 16 / 17 Anmore, B.C. / Burnaby, B.C. Inlet SC of Port Moody / Champs International Skating Centre of B.C. Megan Wing / Aaron Lowe
Junior Ice Dance Emmy Bronsard / Aissa Bouaraguia  15 / 18 Levis, Que. / Montreal, Que. Ecole Patinage Montreal International Skating School / Ecole Patinage Montreal International Skating School Marie-France Dubreuil / Patrice Lauzon/ Pascal Denis
Junior Women Kaiya Ruiter 13 Ottawa, Ont. Glencoe Club Scott Davis
Junior Women Madeline Schizas 16 Oakville, Ont. Milton SC Nancy Lemaire
Senior Ice Dance Molly Lanaghan / Dmitre Razgulajevs 21 / 23 Ajax, Ont. / Ajax, Ont. Scarboro DSC / Scarboro FSC Carol Lane / Juris Razgulajevs / Jon Lane
Senior Ice Dance Haley Sales / Nikolas Wamsteeker 23 / 23 Kelowna, B.C. / Burnaby, B.C. Kelowna SC / Champs International Skating Centre B.C. Megan Wing / Aaron Lowe

Andre Bourgeois, Skate Canada NextGen Director, Marie Bowness of Halifax, N.S., and Laurene Collin Knoblauch of Mississauga, Ont., will be the team leaders at the event. Physiotherapist Pat Stanziano of Toronto, Ont., will be the Canadian medical staff onsite. Sabrina Wong of Toronto, Ont., and Lorna Schroder of Georgetown, Ont., and Stephanie Lafleur Morin of Ignace, Ont., will be the Canadian officials attending the event.

For more information, please visit the official event website or www.isu.org.