Tag Archive for: 2017 Ice Summit

Skate Canada members recognized at 2017 Achievement Awards Gala in Ottawa

OTTAWA, ON: This past weekend, Skate Canada celebrated 22 award winners during its annual Achievement Awards Gala and Banquet, part of the 2017 Skate Canada Ice Summit in Ottawa, Ont. Hosted in the nation’s capital in honour of Canada’s sesquicentennial anniversary, Skate Canada also celebrated its 130th anniversary since its inauguration in 1887.

The winners received their awards on Friday night in front of a crowd of over 350 of Canada’s top skating delegates. Winners were presented their awards by the evening’s co-hosts: Olympian and three-time Canadian champion, Josée Chouinard, and renowned figure skating correspondent PJ Kwong.

The Skate Canada Achievement Awards program honours dedicated members of the skating community who have donated their time to help contribute to improving the quality of skating in Canada.

The 2016-2017 recipients were:

  • Skate Canada Club and Recreational Coach Award of Excellence
    Stacey Charlton, Sussex FSC, New Brunswick Section
  • Skate Canada Competitive Coach/Choreographer Award of Excellence
    Lee Barkell, Toronto Cricket, Skating & Curling Club, Central Ontario Section
  • Skate Canada Officials Award of Excellence
    Josie Howard, Skate Regina, Saskatchewan Section
  • Skate Canada Event Volunteer Award of Excellence
    France Bisson, CPA Saint-Sébastien, Quebec Section
  • Elizabeth Swan Memorial Award
    Kortney Story, Aldergrove FSC, British Columbia/Yukon Section
  • Billie Mitchell Award
    Sally Rehorick, Champs International Skating Centre of British Columbia, British Columbia/Yukon Section

Skate Canada also presents a volunteer award to one member of each of the Skate Canada sections. The following exceptional volunteers were awarded the 2016-2017 Skate Canada Section Volunteer Award of Excellence:

  • British Columbia/Yukon Section
    Lorraine Mapoles, Mount Boucherie Skating Club
  • Alberta/NWT/Nunavut Section
    Krista Sellers, Calalta Figure Skating Club
  • Saskatchewan Section
    David Tuffs, Unity Skating Club
  • Manitoba Section
    Stan Yee, St. Andrews Skating Club
  • Northern Ontario Section
    Felicia Blasky, Border Skating Club of Fort Frances
  • Western Ontario Section
    Judi Emery, Ilderton Skating Club
  • Central Ontario Section
    Douglas Shelley, Skate Oakville
  • Eastern Ontario Section
    Barbara Hough, Prescott Figure Skating Club
  • Quebec Section
    Carole Bellerose, CPA Trois Rivières Ouest
  • New Brunswick Section
    Kim Macvey, Saint John Skating Club
  • Prince Edward Island Section
    Cindy Ramsay, Kensington Area Figure Skating Club
  • Nova Scotia Section
    Donald Murray, Dalhousie Kings Figure Skating Club
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Section
    Susan Dean, Flying Blades Figure Skating Club

Three additional host section awards were recognized in the CanSkate, STARSkate and CompetitiveSkate athlete areas, as representatives of all section winners across the country in those categories:

  • Skate Canada Section CanSkate Athlete Award
    Ben Baldwin, Gloucester Skating Club, Eastern Ontario Section
  • Skate Canada Section STARSkate Athlete Award
    Joelle Menard, Winchester Skating Club Inc., Eastern Ontario Section
  • Skate Canada Section CompetitiveSkate Athlete Award
    Evan Hopkins, Rideau Skating Club, Eastern Ontario Section

Skate Canada congratulates all award winners, nominees, and countless invaluable volunteers.

Skating Community in Ottawa for the 2017 Ice Summit

OTTAWA, ON: Canada’s skating delegates are on their way to the nation’s capital for the 2017 Ice Summit. The conference will take place from June 2-4, 2017 and will consist of a wide range of opportunities for members at all levels within Skate Canada.

This year will be particularly special as Canada celebrates its sesquicentennial anniversary. Not only is it a milestone year for our country, but also for skating in Canada. This year, Skate Canada is celebrating 130 years as an organization.

The theme throughout the event is: Converge, Connect and Collaborate. The 2017 Ice Summit package offers a broad spectrum of informative and interactive workshops specifically targeting coaches, choreographers, officials, clubs and skating schools, and Skate Canada sections. With over 20 workshops attendees will be able to select the workshops most relevant to their skating career.

During the three-day event, participants will learn from skating’s best through a series of on and off ice seminars. The on-ice workshops feature top coaches and choreographers, including Brian Orser, Marilyn Langlois, and Yvan Desjardins. As part of Skate Canada’s commitment to safe sport and providing a safe environment the keynote speaker for this year’s summit is Sheldon Kennedy, the founder of Respect in Sport. He will share his personal experiences and prevention education to enhance safety for everyone in sport.

The annual Skate Canada Achievement Awards Gala and Banquet will take place on Friday evening. The gala celebrates the accomplishments of skaters, volunteers, officials and coaches who made significant contributions to progress the quality of skating in Canada.

The event will conclude on Sunday with the Annual General Meeting of the association. Members will again be able to participate remotely as the AGM and voting will be available via live stream.