Members Honoured at 2023 Skate Canada Awards Celebration

Ottawa, ON (May 29, 2023) Skate Canada was pleased to honour 19 award winners at its annual Skate Canada Awards Celebration at the 2023 Ice Summit which took place virtually over the weekend.  

The Skate Canada Awards program honours dedicated members of the skating community who have donated their time to help contribute to improving the quality of skating in Canada.   

The 2022-2023 recipients were:   

National Grassroots and STAR Pathway Coach Award 
Cheryle Gaston-McMullen (NS)  

National Podium Pathway Coach Award 
Patrice Lauzon (QC)  

National Grassroots Official Award
Ginette Charbonneau (QC)  

National Official Award  
Beth Crane (BC/YT)  

National Event Volunteer Award  
Ron Matsuba (AB/NT/NU)  

National Operational Committee Member Award 
Patty Klein (QC)  

National Athlete Impact Award 
Keegan Messing (AB/NT/NU)  

National Club/School Award 
Mount Pearl Paradise Skating Club (NL)  

Billie Mitchell Award 
Glenn Fortin (ON)

Skate Canada also presents a volunteer award to one member of each of the Skate Canada sections. The following exceptional volunteers were awarded the 2022-2023 National Volunteer Award:   

British Columbia/Yukon Section  
Shelley Verhelst  

Alberta/Northwest Territories/Nunavut Section  
Diana Peters  

Saskatchewan Section  
Blair Seifert  

Manitoba Section  
Donna Wytinck  

Ontario Section  
Muriel Blaker  

Quebec Section  
Rémi Gibara  

New Brunswick Section  
Tracey Carroll  

Nova Scotia Section  
Sarah-Jane Raine  

Prince Edward Island Section 
Debbie MacMurdo  

Newfoundland/Labrador Section  
Susan Dean  

Skate Canada congratulates all the award winners, nominees and our countless volunteers on their invaluable contributions to the sport. 

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *