Six NextGen Athletes Close Out the Junior Grand Prix Series in Italy

OTTAWA, ON (October 6, 2022) – Six Canadian athletes are heading to Egna, Italy for the last stop of the ISU Junior Grand Prix series, taking place from October 12-15, 2022, following a hugely successful season that saw Canada claim five medals in pair and ice dance. The Canadian team will be comprised of one man, one woman, as well as two ice dance teams. 

Competing in her first ISU Junior Grand Prix will be 15-year-old Rose Theroux. Theroux is no stranger to international competition, having competed at the 2022 Cup of Austria where she narrowly missed the podium by 3 points. 

Aleksa Rakic will be competing at his second ISU Junior Grand Prix of the season, having previously finished seventh in Ostrava, Czech Republic. Last season, Rakic claimed a silver medal at both the 2021 Ice Challenge and 2022 Skate Canada Challenge in senior men.  

Junior Grand Prix silver medallists Sandrine Gauthier and Quentin Thieren will be looking to add another medal to their collection, while promising ice dancers Marianne Hubert and William Oddson will aim to improve upon their 10th place result earlier this season.  

Competition kicks off on Thursday, October 13 with the men’s short program and rhythm dance. Friday, October 14 will see women skaters take the ice for their short programs and ice dancers complete their free programs. The event concludes on Saturday with the men’s and women’s free programs. For more information and schedules, click here.     

Team Canada 

Name | Age | Hometown | Coach | Training Location 

Rose Theroux | 15 | Ste-Victoire-de-Sorel, Que. | Marc-André Craig & Amélie Fortin | Chambly, Que.   

Aleksa Rakic | 18 | Burnaby, B.C. | Joanne McLeod | Burnaby, B.C. 

Ice Dance 
Sandrine Gauthier | 18 | Saint-Constant, Que. & Quentin Thieren | 18 | Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Que. | Patrice Lauzon & Benjamin Brisebois | Montreal, Que.
Marianne Hubert | 18 | Trois-Rivières, Que. & William Oddson | 20 | Calgary, Alta. | Kim Slopak-Weeks & Tyler Myles | Calgary, Alta 

Team Leaders – Andre Bourgeois & Manon Perron
Medical Team – Sylvia Ciurysek
Officials – Limin Jao & Reaghan Fortin 

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *