Nine Canadians to Compete at the 2022 Nebelhorn Trophy

OTTAWA, ON (September 16, 2022) – After kicking off the season at the U.S. Figure Skating Classic earlier this month, nine members of the Canadian National Team will make their way to Oberstdorf, Germany to compete at the 2022 Nebelhorn Trophy from September 21-24, 2022. Team Canada will count one entry in women and pair, as well as two entries in both men and ice dance.

19-year-old Madeline Schizas will be the sole Canadian to compete in the women’s event. Schizas burst onto the international scene last season where she captured the hearts of Canadians with her outstanding performances in both the team and single women events at the 2022 Winter Olympics.

The men’s competition will be highlighted by veteran and current Canadian champion Keegan Messing, who also captured gold at the 53rd Golden Spin of Zagreb. He will be joined by Olympic teammate Roman Sadovsky, who secured a silver medal at the 2022 Canadian Tire National Skating Championships and placed fourth at the 2021 Rostelecom Cup.

Deanna Stellato-Dudek & Maxime Deschamps will be competing for Team Canada in the pair event. They had a fantastic showing last season finishing third at the 2022 Canadian Tire National Skating Championships and fourth at the 2022 ISU Four Continents Championships®.

The ice dance team will be led by Carolane Soucisse & Shane Firus. The duo had a consistent 2021-2022 season, placing fourth at both the 2022 Canadian Tire National Skating Championships and 2022 ISU Four Continents Championships®. In their first season as members of the National Team, Molly Lanaghan & Dmitre Razgulajevs will be looking to gain valuable international experience after the duo was eighth at the 2022 Canadian Tire National Skating Championships.

Competition starts on Wednesday, September 22, with the men, women and pair short program. The following day, men and pair disciplines complete their free programs, while ice dancers will tackle the rhythm dance. The event will conclude with the free dance and women free program on Saturday. For more information regarding the event, click here.

Team Canada 
Name | Age | Hometown | Coach | Training Location

Madeline Schizas | 19 | Oakville, Ont. | Nancy Lemaire & Derek Schmidt | Milton, Ont.

Keegan Messing | 30 | Girdwood, USA | Ralph Burghart | Anchorage, USA
Roman Sadovsky | 23 | Vaughan, Ont. | Tracey Wainman & Grzegorz Filipowski | Richmond Hill, Ont.

Deanna Stellato-Dudek | 39 | Chicago, USA & Maxime Deschamps | 30 | Vaudreuil-Dorion, Que. | Josée Picard | Vaudreuil-Dorion, Que.

Ice Dance
Carolane Soucisse | 27 | Châteauguay, Que. & Shane Firus | 28 | North Vancouver, BC | Carol Lane & Juris Razgulajevs | Toronto, Ont.
Molly Lanaghan | 23 | Doncaster, GB & Dmitre Razgulajevs | 25 | Ajax, Ont. | Carol Lane & Juris Razgulajevs | Scarborough, Ont.

Team Leader – Mike Slipchuk
Medical Team – Mireille Landry
Officials – Debbie Islam & Jacqueline Wickett-Warren

For more information, please visit

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *