Canada’s NextGen Skaters Head to France to kick off 2021-2022 ISU Junior Grand Prix 

OTTAWA, ON: Skate Canada’s junior skaters are excited to get back to competition, kicking off the 20212022 skating season with the ISU Junior Grand Prix Series. The first stop of seven, on this year’s circuit will be in Courchevel, France. Along the way, Canada’s top junior skaters will compete against the world for a coveted spot at the ISU Junior Grand Prix FinalSkate Canada will have four entries, for a total of six skaters, competing at the event. There will be one entry in men, one entry in women, and two entries in ice dance at the competition. This event is scheduled to take place from August 18-21, 2021.  

Corey Circelli, 18, Toronto, Ont., is the only Canadian in the men’s discipline. Circelli won gold in junior at the 2020 Canadian Tire National Skating Championships. He is coached by Brian Orser and Tracey Wilson in Toronto, Ont..  

Kaiya Ruiter, 15, Calgary, Alta., is the only Canadian in the women’s discipline. Ruiter won gold in junior at the 2020 Canadian Tire National Skating Championships. She also won gold in junior at the 2020 Bavarian Open. She is coached by Scott Davis and Jeff Langdon in Calgary, Alta.  

Miku Makita, 18, Annmore, B.C., and Tyler Gunara, 19, Burnaby, B.C., are one of two ice dance teams representing Canada at this event. The team finished fifth at the 2020 Youth Winter Olympic Games. They are coached by Aaron Lowe and Megan Wing in Burnaby, B.C.  

Hailey Yu, 16, Burnaby, B.C., and Brendan Giang, 18, Burnaby, B.C., will also represent Canada in the ice dance discipline. This ice dance team won a bronze medal in the novice division at the Bavarian Open in 2020. They are coached by Aaron Lowe and Meghan Wing in Burnaby, B.C.  

André Bourgeois, Skate Canada NextGen Director and Carolyn Allwright of Waterloo, Ont., will be the Canadian team leaders at the event. Physiotherapist Meaghan Shewchuk of Lloydminster, Alta., will be the Canadian team medical staff on site. Susan Morriss of Victoria, B.C, and Erica Topolski of Fredericton, N.B., will be the team officials at the event.  

For more information, please visit  





Corey Circelli 




Toronto, Ont. 

Toronto Cricket Skating and Curling Club   

Brian Orser and Tracey Wilson 



Kaiya Ruiter   



Calgary, Alta. 


The Glencoe Club   

Scott Davis and 

Jeff Langdon 


Ice Dance 

Miku Makita / Tyler Gunara   



Annemore, B.C. /  Burnaby, B.C. 


Inlet Skate Club of Port Moody 


Aaron Lowe and Meghan Wing 


Ice Dance 

Hailey Yu / Brendan Giang   



Burnaby, B.C. / Burnaby, B.C.  

Inlet SC / Champs International Skating Centre of B.C. 


Aaron Lowe and Meghan Wing 
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *