Tag Archive for: 2020 Zagreb Snowflakes Trophy

Canadians graze the podium at international synchronized skating competition

ZAGREB, Croatia – Gold Ice from Brampton, Ont., produced the third best free program but it wasn’t enough to reach the podium in junior competition this weekend at the Zagreb Snowflakes Trophy synchronized skating competition.

Fintastic from Finland took the gold with 198.29 points followed by Lexettes from the U.S., at 172.15, their compatriots Team Image at 162.00 and the Canadians at 157.37. There were 10 entries.

The Canadian skaters, fourth after the short program, were Nethma Aluthge, Parekh Myers, Lora Puliz, Jenna Payne, Catrina Asher, Aabha Vedi, Joseline Pretto Simmons, Katherine Walker, Gabrielle Emery, Katherine Meehan, Sadie Hoover, Halle Priester, Emiko Arshad, Kaitlin Harnum, Marie-Ève Ouellet, Olivia Tworzyanski, Denika Ellis Dawson, Isabelle Pawlowski, Mia Bek and Brynn Wilskinson.

“It was a relieving moment knowing that we were able to accomplish our program component goals with the support from our coaches and family,” said Ellis Dawson. “We felt super proud in each other knowing that we put out, the best skate as a team.”

The theme of their short program was the ‘Roaring 20’s Flappers.’

“This program is super fun to perform and we all love the choreographic decision the coaches made,” said Tworzyanski. “It’s a good crowd pleaser and it really gets everyone in a good mood. Our dresses help us portray the character as they have some signature pieces from the 1920’s.”

Gold Ice was the sole Canadian team at the event.

Full results: 16th Zagreb Snowflakes Trophy 2020

Gold Ice junior headed to Europe for Zagreb Snowflake Trophy

OTTAWA, ON: Gold Ice junior will be the lone Canadian synchronized skating team competing at the fourth edition of the Zagreb Snowflakes Trophy. The event will take place from January 17-19, 2020 in Zagreb, Croatia.

Gold Ice junior of Brampton, Ont., placed fourth at the 2019 Skate Canada Synchronized Skating Championships in Waterloo, Ont. They are coached by Jessica Brown and Ashleigh Greenhaigh. Marion Dyke will be a Canadian official at the event.

For more information, please visit www.isu.org.