Team Canada ready to take on the world at the ISU World Team Trophy

OTTAWA, ON: Skate Canada will send an eight-member team to the 2017 ISU World Team Trophy, taking place for the fifth time in Tokyo, Japan from April 19-23. The Canadian team will consist of two men, two women and one entry per discipline in pair and ice dance.

The Canadian Team will be led by team captains two-time world ice dance medallists Kaitlyn Weaver and Andrew Poje, Canadian pair bronze medallists Kirsten Moore-Towers and Michael Marinaro, three-time world champion Patrick Chan, Olympic silver team medallist Kevin Reynolds, world bronze medallist Gabrielle Daleman and Canadian bronze medallist Alaine Chartrand.

The countries ranked one to six on the ISU team standings qualify for the event. Team Canada is ranked number one heading into this event. The other five countries, in order of qualification, are: Russia, USA, Japan, China and France. Skaters compete in their disciplines with short programs/dance and free skates/dance. After the results, they receive placement points, which are then added together and the team with the highest points total will win the title. Teams will compete for a total of $1 million USD in prize money.

Canada has medalled three times at this event, winning silver at the inaugural event in 2009, bronze in 2012 and silver in 2013.

Mike Slipchuk, Skate Canada High Performance Director, will be the Canadian team leader at this event.  Meghan Buttle of Toronto, Ont., will be the team physiotherapist. Canadian officials at the event are Karen Butcher of Greely, Ont., and Karen Howard, Regina, Sask.

For results and full entries please visit the event page. For photos of Canadian entries, please contact [email protected].


Discipline Name Age Hometown Club Coach
Men Patrick Chan 26 Toronto, Ont. Granite Club Marina Zoueva / Oleg Epstein / Johnny Johns
Men Kevin Reynolds 26 Coquitlam, B.C. Vancouver SC Joanne McLeod
Ladies Gabrielle Daleman 19 Newmarket, Ont. Toronto Cricket, Skating and Curling Club Lee Barkell / Brian Orser
Ladies Alaine Chartrand 21 Prescott, Ont. Nepean Skating Club Michelle Leigh
Pairs Kirsten Moore-Towers / Michael Marinaro 24/25 St. Catharines, Ont. / Sarnia, Ont. Kitchener-Waterloo SC / Point Edward SC Inc. Bruno Marcotte / Richard Gauthier / Sylvie Fullum / Julie Marcotte / Cynthia Lemaire
Ice Dance Kaitlyn Weaver / Andrew Poje 27/30 Toronto, Ont. / Waterloo, Ont. Sault FSC / Kitchener-Waterloo SC Nikolai Morozov
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *