Skate Canada members honoured at 2016 Achievement Awards Gala in St. John’s

OTTAWA, ON: This past weekend, Skate Canada recognized 21 award winners during its annual Achievement Awards Gala, part of the 2016 Skate Canada Ice Summit in St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador.

The winners received their awards on Friday night at the annual Skate Canada Achievement Awards Gala and Banquet. The winners were presented their awards by 2016 Canadian champions, including three-time world champion and two-time Olympic silver medallist Patrick Chan, Canadian champion Alaine Chartrand, two-time world champions and Olympic silver medallists (team) Meagan Duhamel and Eric Radford, two-time world medallists Kaitlyn Weaver and Andrew Poje, and team co-captain of Canadian champions, Les Suprêmes, Claudia Sforzin.

The Skate Canada National Awards Program honours dedicated members of the skating community who have donated their time to help contribute to improving the quality of skating in Canada.

The 2015-2016 recipients were:

Skate Canada Club and Recreational Coach Award of Excellence


Marilyn KreuzingerMarilyn Kreuzinger, Mile Zero FSC,
British Columbia/Yukon Section








Skate Canada Competitive Coach Award of Excellence

Yvan DesjardinsYvan Desjardins, École Excellence Rosemère,
Quebec Section








Skate Canada Officials Award of Excellence

Susan BlatzSusan Blatz, Burlington Skating Centre,
Western Ontario Section








Elizabeth Swan Memorial Award

Susan ThistleSusan Thistle, Prince of Wales SC,
Newfoundland and Labrador Section








Billie Mitchell Award

Leanna Caron, Timmins Porcupine FSC,
Northern Ontario Section








Skate Canada also presents a volunteer award to one member of each of the Skate Canada sections. The following exceptional volunteers were awarded the 2015-2016 Skate Canada Section Volunteer Award of Excellence:

British Columbia/Yukon Section

Gail WeberGail Weber, Fort St. John FSC









Alberta/NWT/Nunavut Section

Heather GlazierHeather Glazier, Foothills FSC









Saskatchewan Section

Carla LaevensCarla Laevens, Leader SC









Manitoba Section

Heather HollindaHeather Hollinda, Roblin FSC









Northern Ontario Section

Julia MullinsJulia Mullins, Fort William FSC









Western Ontario Section

Steve ScherrerSteve Scherrer, Kitchener-Waterloo SC









Central Ontario Section

Karen SymeKaren Syme, Skate Canada Brampton-Chinguacousy









Eastern Ontario Section

Sim CallewaertSim Callewaert, Oshawa SC










Michele GodboutMichèle Godbout, CPA Rosemont









New Brunswick Section

Steven KeithSteven Keith, Saint John SC









Prince Edward Island Section

Juanita GallantJuanita Gallant, O’Leary FSC









Nova Scotia Section

Susan CaseySusan Casey, Dartmouth SC









Newfoundland and Labrador Section

Keith-WoodfordKeith Woodford, CBS Skating Club









Three additional section awards were recognized in the CanSkate, STARSkate and CompetitiveSkate athlete areas, as representatives of all section winners in those categories:

Skate Canada Section CanSkate Athlete Award

Scarlett SherlockScarlett Sherlock, Mount Pearl-Paradise SC, Newfoundland and Labrador Section









Skate Canada Section STARSkate Athlete Award

Claire BennettClaire Bennett, Mount Pearl-Paradise SC, Newfoundland and Labrador Section









Skate Canada Section CompetitiveSkate Athlete Award

Anna-CarterAnna Carter, Mount Pearl-Paradise SC, Newfoundland and Labrador Section









Skate Canada congratulates all award winners, nominees, and countless invaluable volunteers.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *