Canadians Benoît Lavoie & Nathalie Lambert both successfully elected to ISU positions

DUBROVNIK, CROATIA: Skate Canada and Speed Skating Canada are thrilled to announce that Canadians Benoît Lavoie and Nathalie Lambert have both been elected individually to positions at the International Skating Union (ISU) following elections which took place Friday, June 10th, at the 56th ISU Congress in Dubrovnik, Croatia. Lavoie has been elected to a seat on the ISU Council and Lambert was elected to the Chair of the Short Track Speed Skating Technical Committee.

Benoît Lavoie is a former President of Skate Canada and currently sits on the Skate Canada Board of Directors. Lavoie has been a volunteer for over 30 years, and he has held many roles in his career including competitor, world judge, referee, and technical controller.

“I have always believed that when you are passionate about something you need to be prepared to step forward to be a part of the organization. I believe in the ISU and I am proud to now be working towards its continued revitalization,” said Benoît Lavoie, ISU Council Member. “I thank my many mentors and the entire Skate Canada organization for believing in me and providing invaluable support over the years.”

“We are thrilled to have Benoît elected to the ISU Council. His passion for skating, deep and broad set of experiences and skills will serve all ISU members, large, small, and developing, extremely well. The ISU is fortunate to gain such a passionate sport leader,” stated Leanna Caron, President, Skate Canada.

Nathalie Lambert, three-time Olympic medallist in short track speed skating, including gold in the women’s relay at the 1992 Games, will now be the chair of the ISU Short Track Technical Committee after being a member of this committee since 2010. She has become the first-ever woman to be elected as a chair in one of the ISU speed skating technical committees.

“I’m really proud and happy to have the privilege of leading the Short Track Technical Committee,” said Lambert. “I’m also proud about being the first woman to lead a speed skating committee, and I’m also very happy to see another woman being part of the Speed Skating Council, Yang Yang from China.”

“I’m glad that Nathalie Lambert was elected as the chair of the ISU Short Track Technical Committee,” added Speed Skating Canada’s Interim President, Susan Auch. “Her experience as an athlete, coach and member of the technical committee speaks for itself. Nathalie makes history today as the first woman chair person for a speed skating technical committee, along with Chinese Olympic medallist Yang Yang who is the first woman elected to the ISU Speed Skating Council.”

“It was also a great day for Canada when Benoît Lavoie was voted in as ISU Figure Skating Council Member. On behalf of Speed Skating Canada’s community, congratulations to Nathalie Lambert and Benoît Lavoie.”

Skate Canada and Speed Skating Canada would also like to congratulate Jan Dijkema, the new ISU President succeeding to Ottavio Cinquanta who was president since 1994, as well as Alexander Lakernik, the new ISU Vice President Figure Skating, and Tron Espeli, the new ISU Vice President Speed Skating.

“Benoît and Nathalie are both great Canadian sport leaders who put the interests of the sport first at all times,” stated jointly Dan Thompson and Ian Moss, respectively Skate Canada and Speed Skating Canada’s CEO. “We are so proud of the Canadian efforts to gain two influential positions at the ISU. We also have confidence that Mr. Dijkema, Mr. Lakernik and Mr. Espeli will bring a fresh energy to the ISU and we look forward to collaborating to grow all disciplines of skating.”

Skate Canada would also like to acknowledge Canadians David Dore and Ann Shaw who were both named as ISU Honorary Members. Dore was elected post-mortem as Honorary Vice President and Shaw a former member of the ISU Ice Dance Technical Committee was selected as an ISU Honorary Member.

About Skate Canada
Skate Canada is the nation’s governing body for competitive figure skating and is dedicated to creating a nation of skaters, both recreationally and competitively. Over 125 years old, Skate Canada is one of the world’s oldest skating organization and Canada’s preeminent leader in skating instruction and education. Over 130,000 Canadians participate in Skate Canada educational programs each year, including our flagship CanSkate program that teaches beginners of every age the basic skills of skating and fundamental movements.

About Speed Skating Canada
Speed Skating Canada (SSC) is the governing body for competitive long track and short track speed skating in Canada. Founded in 1887, the association is comprised of 13 provincial and territorial branches representing more than 14,000 individual members, and counting. SSC believes that sport is an apprenticeship for life and prizes respect for others, integrity, excellence of effort, as well as a safe, healthy environment. SSC recognizes and values its outstanding volunteers who give freely of their time and expertise. It also celebrates the 63 Olympic medals won by Canadian athletes since 1932, as well as the coaches, officials and other dedicated individuals who helped them on their journey.

SSC is proud to be affiliated with partners that share the same vision and values including our premium sponsors Intact Insurance, as well as our funding partners, the Government of Canada, Own the Podium, City of Montreal, Calgary Olympic Oval and WinSport Canada.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *