Exceptional Skate Canada members honoured at 2015 Achievement Awards Gala in Winnipeg

OTTAWA, ON: Skate Canada recognized 22 award winners over the weekend at its Annual Convention and General Meeting (ACGM) and National Coaches’ Conference (NCC) in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

The recipients received their awards on Friday night at the annual Skate Canada Achievement Awards Gala and Banquet. The winners were presented their awards by various Canadian champions, including World Champions and Olympic silver medallists Meagan Duhamel and Eric Radford, two-time world medallists Kaitlyn Weaver and Andrew Poje, Canadian champion Nam Nguyen, Canadian champion Gabrielle Daleman, and team co-captain of World Synchronized Skating Champions, Nexxice, Lee Chandler.

The Skate Canada National Awards Program honours dedicated members of the skating community who have donated their time to help contribute to improving the quality of skating in Canada.

The 2014-2015 recipients are:

  • Skate Canada Club and Recreational Coach Award of Excellence
    Mary-Liz Wiley, Beaconsfield FSC, Quebec Section
  • Skate Canada Competitive Coach Award of Excellence
    Anne Schelter and Shelley Simonton Barnett, Burlington Skating Centre, Western Ontario Section
  • Skate Canada Officials Award of Excellence
    Jane Derby, Oshawa SC, Eastern Ontario Section
  • Elizabeth Swan Memorial Award
    Jo-Anne Phelps, Skate Oakville, Central Ontario Section
  • Billie Mitchell Award
    Mary Ellen McDonald, Skate Winnipeg, Manitoba Section

Skate Canada also presents a volunteer award to one member of each of the 13 Skate Canada sections. The following exceptional volunteers were awarded the 2014-2015 Skate Canada Section Volunteer Award of Excellence:

  • British Columbia/Yukon Section
    Lynne Henderson-Drake, Campbell River FSC
  • Alberta/NWT/Nunavut Section
    Doug Pettapiece, Gateway SC
  • Saskatchewan Section
    Valerie Malik, Saskatoon FSC/Skate Saskatoon
  • Manitoba Section
    Stan Yee, St. Andrews SC
  • Northern Ontario Section
    Therese Bilsborough, Cochrane FSC
  • Western Ontario Section
    Jim Virtue, Ilderton SC
  • Central Ontario Section
    Audrey Hunter, Skate Canada Brampton-Chinguacousy
  • Eastern Ontario Section
    Marilyn McAuley, Fort Henry Heights SC
  • Quebec Section
    Joanne Allard Rochon, Patinage Gatineau
  • New Brunswick Section
    Carole Thiffault, Dieppe Gold Blades
  • Prince Edward Island Section
    Cindy Ramsay, Kensington Area FSC
  • Nova Scotia Section
    Sarah Miles, Dartmouth SC
  • Newfoundland/Labrador Section
    Susan Thistle, Prince of Wales SC


Three additional awards were given out to the home section in the CanSkate, STARSkate and CompetitiveSkate athlete area, as representatives of those categories.

  • Skate Canada Section CanSkate Athlete Award
    Jacy Butler, Carmen SC, Manitoba Section
  • Skate Canada Section STARSkate Athlete Award
    Morgan Miller, Portage SC, Manitoba Section
  • Skate Canada Section CompetitiveSkate Athlete Award
    Casey Bertholet, Hartney FSC, Manitoba Section


Next year’s Skate Canada Achievement Awards Gala and Banquet will once again occur during the 2016 Annual Convention and General Meeting (ACGM) and National Coaches’ Conference (NCC), taking place May 25-28, 2016 in St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *