Outstanding members honoured at 2014 Skate Canada Achievement Awards Gala

OTTAWA, ON: Skate Canada recognized award winners over the weekend at its Annual Convention and General Meeting (ACGM) and National Coaches’ Conference (NCC) in Quebec City, Quebec.

The recipients were presented with their awards on Friday night at the annual awards gala. The winners received their awards from various presenters, including Olympic silver medalists Meagan Duhamel and Eric Radford, world silver medalists Kaitlyn Weaver and Andrew Poje, and Kristen Loritz, team captain of world synchronized skating silver medalists, Nexxice.

The Skate Canada National Awards Program honours dedicated members of the skating community who have donated their time to help contribute to improving the quality of skating in Canada.

The 2013-2014 recipients are:

  • Skate Canada Club and Recreational Coach Award of Excellence
    Lynda Thompson, Hamilton Skating Club, Western Ontario Section
  • Skate Canada Competitive Coach Award of Excellence
    Brian Orser, Toronto Cricket Skating and Curling Club, Central Ontario Section
  • Skate Canada Officials Award of Excellence
    Karen Howard, Skate Regina, Saskatchewan Section
  • Elizabeth Swan Memorial Award
    Debbie Beauchamp, Burlington Skating Centre, Western Ontario Section
  • Billie Mitchell Award
    Debbie MacMurdo, Kensington Area FSC, Prince Edward Island Section

Skate Canada also presents a volunteer award to one member of each of the 13 Skate Canada sections. The following exceptional volunteers have been awarded the 2013-2014 Skate Canada Section Volunteer Award of Excellence:

  • British Columbia/Yukon Section
    Laura Carr, Kelowna FSC
  • Alberta/NWT/Nunavut Section
    Lee Johnson, Grand Prairie SC
  • Saskatchewan Section
    Ivan Hruska, Skate Esterhazy
  • Manitoba Section
    Linda Melnick, The Pas SC
  • Northern Ontario Section
    Stephanie LaFleur-Morin, Ignace SC
  • Western Ontario Section
    Vermell Stevens, Woodstock SC
  • Central Ontario Section
    Kathy Adams, Meaford Amateur Athletic FSC
  • Eastern Ontario Section
    Ann Monaghan, Bowmanville FSC
  • Quebec Section
    Pierrette Boissonneault, CPA Laval
  • New Brunswick Section
    Nicole LeBlanc-Richard, Dieppe Gold Blades
  • Prince Edward Island Section
    Lynne Beairsto, Sherwood Parkdale FSC
  • Nova Scotia Section
    Tammy Conistis, Halifax SC
  • Newfoundland/Labrador Section
    Gail Hopkins, Flying Blades FSC

Three additional awards were given out to the home section in the CanSkate, STARSkate and CompetitiveSkate athlete area, as representatives of those categories.

  • Skate Canada Section CanSkate Athlete Award
    Jade Laplante, CPA Les Lames d’Argent de Laval, Quebec Section
  • Skate Canada Section STARSkate Athlete Award
    Chelsea Abraham, CPA Asticou, Quebec Section
  • Skate Canada Section CompetitiveSkate Athlete Award
    Joseph Phan, CPA Asticou, Quebec Section
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *