Canadians en Route to Germany for 2014 ISU Adult Competition

OTTAWA, ONT: A record fifty Canadian skaters will be competing at the 2014 International Skating Union (ISU) Adult Figure Skating Competition. The event takes place in Oberstdorf, Germany, from May 25-31, 2014.

This year’s competition, which marks the 10th anniversary of the event, will see a record number of entries – 432 skaters plus 12 synchronized skating teams from 28 countries. In order to compete at the ISU Adult Figure Skating Competition, skaters must be between the ages of 28 and 78. Many entrants are former international competitors, including Canada’s own Gary Beacom, 1984 Olympian and 1988 World Professional Champion.

“The Canadian team at the 2014 ISU Adult Competition represents what it is to embrace the joy of skating. Their passion for the sport and dedication to skating for life is something we encourage all Canadians to adopt,” said Dan Thompson, Skate Canada CEO. “We know that this group will make us proud as they excel on the greatest international stage for adult skaters.”

Over the seven-day competition, skaters will compete in the following categories:

  • Ladies and Men Free Skating
  • Ladies and Men Artistic Free Skating
  • Pairs Free Skating
  • Ice Dance – Pattern Dance
  • Ice Dance – Short Dance
  • Ice Dance – Free Dance
  • Synchronized Skating

Since the event’s inception in 2005, Canada has been well represented in entries and medal count. In 2013, the Canadian team earned a total of 25 medals, including 12 gold medals, seven silver medals, and six bronze medals.

The adult figure skaters representing Canada are:

British Columbia
Alexandra Gunsett (free skate & artistic)
David Dickey (free skate & artistic)
Diana Barkley (ice dance)
Gary Beacom (free skate & artistic)
Gloria Purvey (free skate & artistic)
Geoff Squires (ice dance)
James Wilkins (ice dance & artistic)
Janette Wood (free skate & artistic)
Linda Maundrell (artistic)
Luda Kalenuk (free skate & artistic)
Michelle Lamothe (free skate & artistic)
Raye Ryan (free skate & artistic)
Sue Edwards (dance & artistic)

Annette Nymeyer (free skate & artistic)
Bobbie Joe Donovan (free skate & artistic)
Catherine Taylor (free skate & artistic)
Denis La Rochelle (free skate & artistic)
Diane Gilders (free skate & artistic)
Isabelle Ciocoiu (free skate & artistic)
Jennifer Soeder (free skate & artistic)
Joan McGrath (free skate & artistic)
Leonard Baker (pairs)
Susan MacFarlane (pairs)

Tracey Muir (free skate)

Alison Clark (ice dance)
Angela Justason (ice dance & free skate)
Francesco Ventura (free skate & artistic)
Hisayo Shibata (free skate & artistic)
Jacob Brunott (ice dance & artistic))
Jeff Bullard (ice dance & artistic)
Joan Cheng (free skate & artistic)
Ken Langlois (ice dance)
Sarina Tsai (free skate & artistic)
Takeshi Ikeno (free skate & artistic)
Terri-Lynn Black-Calleri (ice dance)

Nova Scotia
Donald Murrary (free skate & artistic)
Heather Dawe (free skate & artistic)
Jennifer Powell (artistic)
Kate McInnis (free skate & artistic)

Scotian Waves Synchronized Skating team:
Alicia McNeil
Ashley Stewart
Deborah Fountain
Elsa Pihl
Jennifer Harvie
Jennifer Powell
Jill Jackson-Rutledge
Kate McInnis
Katie Malone
Kayleigh Butler
Ola Smyth
Shannon Sutherland
Tracy Lovett

For more information, please visit or


0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *