(January 20, 2010) – Skate Canada and BMO gave out the second round of BMO Possibilities Awards on Sunday night at the John Labatt Centre in London.

BMO Possibilities Awards are given annually at the conclusion of the BMO Canadian Figure Skating Championships. Each award consists of a $500 BMO training grant and a glass sculpture.

The BMO Possibilities Awards take into account some of the following criteria as evidenced during individual performances in any part of the 2010 BMO Canadian Figure Skating Championships.

  • personal best performance
  • performance given in the face of adversity
  • performance that made an impression in the minds of the spectators
  • performance that displayed new and creative skating talent and set new standards or established a new horizon

Kirsten Moore-Towers and Dylan Moscovitch from Western Ontario performed perfectly in both their programs and left the crowd wanting to see more. They didn’t miss an element and for that reason were been awarded the BMO Possibilities Award.

Sometimes it is difficult to describe a wonderful performance but words like effortless, determined, in the moment and dazzling all come to mind.  All of these words describe the short program performance of Cynthia Phaneuf from the Quebec Section.  For this moment in time Cynthia received a BMO Possibilities Award.

On Friday afternoon the audience at the John Labatt Centre was on its feet cheering wildly for Karis Ralph and Asher Hill from Central Ontario.  The dance team had just finished their original dance with an astonishing performance.  It was done to a medley of African rhythms which had the audience dancing in the aisles.  Kharis and Asher brought a new level of excitement to the event and for this they received a BMO Possibilities award.

It was difficult to pick just one BMO Possibility Award from a field as deep in talent as in the men’s event.  It took a very special performance by Kevin Reynolds from British Columbia/ Yukon Territories. His performance included two different quadruple jumps and two triple axels, raising the bar for men’s skating in Canada, and for this he received a BMO Possibilities award.

Congratulations to all the award winners!

 
Home  |  About Us  |  Join  |  Programs  |  Coaches  |  Store  |  Boutique  |  Members Only
Signin  |  
© 2011 SkateCanada.ca. All rights reserved.

(Le 20 janvier 2010) - Patinage Canada et BMO ont décerné une deuxième série de Prix Possibilités BMO dimanche soir, au John Labatt Centre, à London.

Les Prix Possibilités BMO sont remis tous les ans à la fin des Championnats canadiens de patinage artistique BMO. Chaque prix consiste en la remise d’une bourse d’entraînement de 500 $ de BMO et d’une sculpture en verre.

Les récipiendaires des Prix Possibilités doivent satisfaire à un certain nombre de critères de performance individuelle lors des Championnats canadiens de patinage artistique BMO 2010 :

  • meilleure performance personnelle;
  • performance donnée dans l’adversité;
  • performance qui restera gravée dans la mémoire des spectateurs;
  • performance qui a mis en valeur la créativité et le talent de patinage et qui a établi de nouvelles normes ou élargi les horizons.

Kirsten Moore-Towers et Dylan Moscovitch, de l’Ouest de l’Ontario, ont présenté deux programmes parfaits, que la foule aurait aimé voir prolongés. Ils n’ont raté aucun élément et, pour cette raison, un Prix Possibilités BMO leur a été décerné.

Parfois, il est difficile de décrire une merveilleuse performance, mais des mots comme fluide, déterminée, dans le moment présent et éblouissante viennent à l’idée. Tous ces mots décrivent le programme court de Cynthia Phaneuf, de la section du Québec. Pour la performance de ce moment, Cynthia a obtenu un Prix Possibilités BMO.

Vendredi après-midi, le public au John Labatt Centre était debout, applaudissant frénétiquement pour Kharis Ralph et Asher Hill, du Centre de l’Ontario. L’équipe de danse venait tout juste de terminer une incroyable danse originale. Avec son mélange de rythmes africains, la danse a incité le public à danser dans les allées. Kharis et Asher ont accru le niveau d’enthousiasme à l’événement et ainsi, un Prix Possibilités BMO leur a été présenté.

Ce fut difficile de sélectionner un récipiendaire du Prix Possibilités BMO dans un groupe aussi talentueux que celui de l’épreuve masculine. Il a fallu la performance très spéciale de Kevin Reynolds, de la section Colombie-Britannique/Yukon. Sa performance comprenait deux quadruples sauts différents et deux triples axels, ce qui a relevé la barre pour le patinage masculin au Canada, et c’est pourquoi il s’est vu accorder un Prix Possibilités BMO.

Félicitations à tous les gagnants!

 
Home  |  About Us  |  Join  |  Programs  |  Coaches  |  Store  |  Boutique  |  Members Only
Signin  |  
© 2011 PatinageCanada.ca. Tous droits réservés.