(February 24, 2009) – After an exciting week of skating in Calgary at the 2009 BMO Skate Canada Junior Nationals, Skate Canada was pleased to award the BMO Possibilities Awards and Underhill/Martini Scholarship Award to deserving junior skaters.

The BMO Possibilities Awards are given out annually at the conclusion of the event. Each award winner is presented with a $500 BMO training grant and a glass sculpture.  

The awards take into account some of the following criteria during individual performances at the 2009 BMO Skate Canada Junior Nationals:

  • Personal best performance
  • Performance given above adversity
  • Performance that stuck in the minds of the spectators
  • Performance that displayed new and creative skating talent and set new standards or  sought a new horizon

This year Karen Andrew, BMO Branch Manager, CanOxy Branch presented the awards along with Benoît Lavoie, Skate Canada President.

The 2009 BMO Skate Canada Junior Nationals Juvenile Dance Champions were the first to receive the award. BC/YT’s Madeline Edwards and Zhao Kai Pang, wowed the crowd with their free dance. The program was set to Latin American rhythms and they thrilled the audience and the judges with a superb performance.  For this entertaining program, they have been chosen to receive a BMO Possibilities Award.

It’s not often that someone is crowned champion twice in one day, but that is exactly what happened in Calgary.  Phelan Simpson from Western Ontario won both the juvenile men’s event and juvenile pair event with partner Shalena Rau. For these outstanding accomplishments, he received a BMO Possibilities Award.

Edbert Khong from Central Ontario took home one gold medal and one silver medal. He finished second in the pre-novice men’s event and claimed the gold medal with his sister Edrea in the pre-novice ice dance event. For landing on the podium more than once he received a BMO Possibilities Award.

The break-though performance for Garrett Gosselin of the Saskatchewan Section was incredible. He executed a solid performance both technically and artistically in his short and free programs. His strong performances have earned him a BMO Possibilities Award.

Kitty Qian from BC/YT section executed two-triple jumps in both the short and free programs and finished second in the novice women event proving that the possibilities for her are endless. For these solid performances the skater has earned a BMO Possibilities Award.

The Underhill Martini Scholarship Award is presented each year at the BMO Skate Canada Junior Nationals to a skater or skaters showing great potential and overcoming  adversity on the path to success. Together with a cheque for $500 the winners receive a portrait titled “Another Dream Begins”.

Louis Stong, Skating Development Director for Skate Canada presented the award on behalf of his former students Barbara Underhill and Paul Martini.

In December 2007, after competing with partner Matt Mills at the BMO Skate Canada Western Challenge, Carleigh MacDonald of the Western Ontario Section fell and hit her head on the ice during a regular practice session in Kitchener-Waterloo. She was transported to Hamilton Health Sciences and diagnosed with inoperable brainstem cavernoma.  Following the injury, Carleigh became unable to sit up or even write her name.  Although she was told that she would need a walker to help determine her spatial positioning, Carleigh’s determination and strength of character along with the support of her family, friends and coaches culminated in a miraculous recovery.  Two months and eight days later, Carleigh took her first steps back onto the ice, much quicker than the six months her doctors had originally predicated it would take her to walk again. Amazingly, this week, Carleigh MacDonald and her partner Matt Mills competed in the 2009 BMO Skate Canada Junior Nationals pre-novice ice dance and placed ninth.

Congratulations to all the winners of these prestigious awards! We look forward to seeing that the future has in store for you!
Home  |  About Us  |  Join  |  Programs  |  Coaches  |  Store  |  Boutique  |  Members Only
Signin  |  
© 2011 SkateCanada.ca. All rights reserved.

(Le 24 février 2009) - À la suite d'une semaine excitante de patinage à Calgary aux Championnats nationaux juniors BMO – Patinage Canada 2009, Patinage Canada a eu le plaisir de décerner les Prix Possibilités BMO et la Bourse d’études Underhill-Martini à des patineurs juniors méritants.

Les Prix Possibilités BMO sont présentés chaque année au terme de l’événement. Chaque gagnant reçoit une subvention d’entraînement de 500 $ de BMO et une sculpture en verre.

Les prix tiennent compte de certains des critères suivants pendant les performances individuelles aux Championnats nationaux juniors BMO – Patinage Canada 2009 :

  • meilleure performance personnelle;
  • performance qui défie l’adversité;
  • performance qui est restée gravée dans l’esprit du public;
  • performance qui a présenté du talent de patinage nouveau et créatif et établit de nouvelles normes ou a cherché de nouveaux horizons.

Cette année, Karen Andrew, directrice de la succursale CanOxy de BMO, a décerné les prix conjointement avec Benoît Lavoie, président de Patinage Canada.

Les champions de danse juvénile des Championnats nationaux juniors BMO – Patinage Canada 2009 ont été les premiers à recevoir le prix. Madeline Edwards et Zhao Kai Pang, de C.-B./YT, ont emballé la foule avec leur danse libre. Au son d’une musique latino-américaine, ils ont électrisé les spectateurs et les juges avec leur superbe performance. Un Prix Possibilités BMO leur a été présenté pour ce programme divertissant.

Il est rare qu’un patineur soit couronné deux fois champion dans une journée, mais c’est exactement ce qui est arrivé à Calgary. Phelan Simpson, de l’Ouest de l’Ontario, a remporté l’épreuve masculine juvénile et l’épreuve juvénile de patinage en couple avec sa partenaire Shalena Rau. Pour ces exploits exceptionnels, il a reçu un Prix Possibilités BMO.

Edbert Khong, du Centre de l’Ontario, a remporté une médaille d’or et une médaille d’argent. Il a terminé deuxième dans l’épreuve masculine pré-novice et gagné la médaille d’or avec sa sœur Edrea en danse sur glace pré-novice. Pour avoir gravi deux fois les marches du podium, il s’est vu décerner un Prix Possibilités BMO.

Garrett Gosselin, de la section de Saskatchewan, a fait une incroyable percée dans ses performances. Il a exécuté un programme solide tant au point de vue technique qu'artistique dans ses programmes court et libre. Ses fortes performances lui ont mérité un Prix Possibilités BMO.

Kitty Qian, de la section C.-B./YT, a exécuté deux triples sauts dans les programmes court et libre et terminé deuxième chez les femmes novices, prouvant que ses possibilités sont illimitées. Le Prix Possibilités BMO qui lui a été décerné reconnaît les solides performances de cette patineuse.

La Bourse d’études Underhill-Martini est décernée chaque année aux Championnats nationaux juniors BMO – Patinage Canada à un ou des patineurs qui présentent beaucoup de potentiel et surmontent l’adversité sur la voie du succès. En plus d’un chèque de 500 $, les gagnants reçoivent un portrait intitulé Another Dream Begins.
Louis Stong, directeur, Développement du patinage de Patinage Canada, a décerné le prix au nom de ses anciens élèves, Barbara Underhill et Paul Martini.

En décembre 2007, après avoir concouru avec son partenaire Matt Mills au Défi de l’Ouest BMO – Patinage Canada, Carleigh MacDonald, de la section de l’Ouest de l’Ontario, a fait une chute et s’est frappée la tête sur la glace durant une séance d’entraînement ordinaire à Kitchener-Waterloo. Elle a été transportée à l’hôpital Hamilton Health Sciences où on a diagnostiqué un cavernome inopérable du tronc cérébral. Après la blessure, Carleigh était incapable de s’asseoir ou même d'écrire son nom. Bien qu’on lui ait dit qu’elle aurait besoin d’une marchette afin de pouvoir déterminer son positionnement spatial, Carleigh a fait preuve de détermination et de force de caractère et avec le soutien de sa famille, de ses amis et entraîneurs, elle s’est miraculeusement rétablie. Deux mois et huit jours plus tard, Carleigh a fait ses premiers pas sur la glace, beaucoup plus tôt que les six mois que ses médecins avaient prédits avant qu’elle puisse de nouveau marcher. Chose étonnante, cette semaine, Carleigh MacDonald et son partenaire Matt Mills ont concouru en danse sur glace pré-novice aux Championnats nationaux juniors BMO – Patinage Canada 2009 et se sont classés en neuvième place.

Félicitations à tous les récipiendaires de ces prix prestigieux! Nous sommes impatients de voir ce que l’avenir vous réserve!
Home  |  About Us  |  Join  |  Programs  |  Coaches  |  Store  |  Boutique  |  Members Only
Signin  |  
© 2011 PatinageCanada.ca. Tous droits réservés.