(March 18, 2009) –Four Canadians have been named as 2009 inductees to the World Figure Skating Hall of Fame. The induction will take place on March 28, 2009 at the ISU World Figure Skating Championships in Los Angeles, California.
World Champions Brian Orser and Barbara Underhill and Paul Martini will be inducted in the Outstanding Competitor Category, and long-time volunteer Joyce Hisey will be inducted as an Outstanding Contributor who has made a significant impact on the sport in a non-skating role.

Brian Orser of Toronto, Ont., was the first Canadian skater to win all three major national men’s titles at the novice, junior and senior levels. He became the first junior skater to land a triple Axel, at the 1979 Canadian Championships, earning him the nickname “Mr. Triple Axel.” He was World Champion in 1987 and also won four silver, and one bronze world medals. He is a two-time Olympic silver medalist from both 1984 and 1988. Following his successful professional career, Brian served as a coach consultant for Skate Canada and is now a successful coach and choreographer for elite skaters including two-time World bronze medalist Yu-Na Kim of Korea and two-time World Junior champion Adam Rippon.
He was inducted into the Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame in 1988, Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame in 1991 and the Skate Canada Hall of Fame in 1997.

Barbara Underhill of Toronto, Ont., and Paul Martini of Toronto, Ont., were five-time Canadian pair champions, and won the world title in 1984 in front of a home-country crowd in Ottawa, Ontario. Their long program from the 1984 ISU World Figure Skating Championships, is considered one of the greatest moments in Canadian sports history. Underhill and Martini combined emotion in their choreography with dramatic death spirals, triple twist lifts and spectacular throws. The two-time Olympic competitors in 1980 and 1984 went on to an outstanding professional career which is remembered for many signature performances, including When a Man Loves a Woman and Unchained Melody. Both went on to successful broadcasting careers with CBC, including coverage of four Olympic Winter Games.

They were inducted into the Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame in 1985, Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame in 1988 and the Skate Canada Hall of Fame in 1997.

Joyce Hisey of Toronto, Ont., achieved more than 25 years of international and Olympic administrative experience since she was first appointed as an International Skating Union (ISU) referee in ice dancing in 1978. She served on the ISU Ice Dancing Committee (1984-92), ISU Council (1992-2002) and has been an ISU technical delegate (1996-2003), serving in that role at the 2002 Olympic Winter Games. Her expertise in this area resulted in the establishment of a training program that she led for technical delegates from many countries. She was a 1952 Canadian ice dancing silver medalist who began her administrative career as an ice dancing judge. Her national-level appointments include being elected to the then Canadian Figure Skating Association Board of Directors in 1977, where she served as the chairman of the Officials Development Committee for many years and contributed to the revision of ice dancing technical manuals for judges and coaches.

She was inducted into the Canadian Figure Skating Hall of Fame in 1997 and received the Syl Apps Award in 2001, an annual recognition to citizens of the Province of Ontario who have contributed to the development of sport.

Also being inducted into the World Figure Skating Hall of Fame this year are:

Alena Vrzáňová (Aja Zanova), the four-time national champion from Czechoslovakia in the competitor category.

Willy Bietak, the former European, World and Olympic pair competitor for his native Austria will be inducted for his Outstanding Contributions with a creative/professional impact on figure skating. His production company incorporates figure skating into high-quality family entertainment and special events.

Nikolai Panin-Kolomenkin, the six-time Russian champion and 1903 World silver medalist, is being inducted as an Outstanding Contributor prior to 1939.

Home  |  About Us  |  Join  |  Programs  |  Coaches  |  Store  |  Boutique  |  Members Only
Signin  |  Signup
© 2011 SkateCanada.ca. All rights reserved.

(Le 18 mars 2009) - Quatre Canadiens seront intronisés en 2009 au World Figure Skating Hall of Fame. L’intronisation aura lieu le 28 mars 2009 durant les Championnats du monde de patinage artistique de l’UIP à Los Angeles, en Californie.
Les champions du monde Brian Orser, Barbara Underhill et Paul Martini seront intronisés dans la catégorie des compétiteurs exceptionnels tandis que la bénévole de longue date, Joyce Hisey, sera intronisée pour sa contribution exceptionnelle, ayant eu une incidence considérable sur le sport dans un rôle non lié au patinage.

Brian Orser, de Toronto, Ont., a été le premier patineur canadien à remporter les trois grands titres masculins nationaux aux niveaux novice, junior et senior. Premier patineur junior à réussir un triple Axel, aux Championnats canadiens 1979, ce qui lui a mérité le sobriquet « Monsieur triple Axel », il est devenu champion du monde en 1987 en plus de remporter quatre médailles d’argent et une médaille de bronze aux Championnats du monde et d’être double médaillé d’argent olympique en 1984 et 1988. Après sa carrière professionnelle couronnée de succès, Brian a fait fonction de consultant en entraînement de Patinage Canada et connaît actuellement beaucoup de succès à titre d’entraîneur et de chorégraphe de patineurs d’élite, dont le double médaillé de bronze des Championnats du monde, Yu-Na Kim, de Corée, et le double champion du monde junior, Adam Rippon.

Il a été intronisé au Temple de la renommée olympique du Canada en 1988, au Temple de la renommée des sports du Canada en 1991 et au Temple de la renommée de Patinage Canada en 1997.

Barbara Underhill de Toronto, Ont., et Paul Martini de Toronto, Ont., cinq fois champions canadiens de patinage en couple, on remporté le titre mondial en 1984 devant la foule de leur pays natal, à Ottawa, en Ontario. Leur programme long des Championnats du monde de patinage artistique 1984 de l’UIP est considéré l’un des grands moments de l’histoire du sport canadien. Barbara et Paul ont allié l’émotion de leur chorégraphie à de dramatiques spirales de la mort, levées triples vrillées et sauts lancés spectaculaires. Les concurrents olympiques de 1980 et 1984 ont poursuivi une carrière professionnelle exceptionnelle dont on se souvient pour leurs nombreuses performances originales, dont When a Man Loves a Woman et Unchained Melody. Barbara et Paul ont ensuite connu de brillantes carrières en télédiffusion avec le réseau CBC, couvrant entre autres quatre Jeux olympiques d’hiver.

Ils ont été intronisés au Temple de la renommée olympique du Canada en 1985, au Temple de la renommée des sports du Canada en 1988 et au Temple de la renommée de Patinage Canada en 1997.

Joyce Hisey, de Toronto, Ont., a accumulé plus de 25 ans d’expérience administrative internationale et olympique depuis qu’elle a été nommée à titre d’arbitre de danse sur glace de l’Union internationale de patinage (UIP) en 1978. Membre du comité de danse sur glace de l’UIP (1984-1992), du conseil de l’UIP (1992-2002), elle a fait fonction de déléguée technique de l’UIP (1996-2003), jouant ce rôle aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver 2002. Son expertise dans ce domaine a mené à l’établissement d’un programme de formation qu’elle a dirigé à l’intention des délégués techniques de nombreux pays. Médaillée d’argent canadienne en danse sur glace en 1952, elle a amorcé sa carrière administrative comme juge de danse sur glace. Ses nominations au niveau national comprennent son élection au conseil d’administration de l’ancienne Association canadienne de patinage artistique en 1977, où elle a été présidente du Comité de développement des officiels pendant de nombreuses années et a participé à la révision des manuels techniques de danse sur glace pour les juges et les entraîneurs.

Intronisée au Temple de la renommée de Patinage Canada en 1997, elle a reçu le Prix Syl Apps en 2001, décerné annuellement aux citoyens de la province de l’Ontario qui ont contribué au développement du sport.

Les personnes suivantes sont aussi intronisées cette année au World Figure Skating Hall of Fame :

Alena Vrzáňová (Aja Zanova), quatre fois championne nationale de Tchécoslovaquie, dans la catégorie des compétiteurs.

Willy Bietak, ancien concurrent de patinage en couple des Championnats européens, du monde et des Jeux olympiques pour l’Autriche, son pays natal, sera intronisé pour ses contributions exceptionnelles ayant eu une incidence créative ou professionnelle sur le patinage artistique. Son entreprise de production intègre le patinage artistique dans des spectacles de haute qualité pour toute la famille et des événements spéciaux.

Nikolai Panin-Kolomenkin, six fois champion russe et médaillé d’argent des Championnats du monde de 1903, est intronisé pour sa contribution exceptionnelle avant 1939.

Home  |  About Us  |  Join  |  Programs  |  Coaches  |  Store  |  Boutique  |  Members Only
Signin  |  
© 2011 PatinageCanada.ca. Tous droits réservés.